Past Events

March 18, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Opening of Six New Exhibits

Join us for a brunch reception celebrating the opening of six new exhibits.

March 6-17

Closed

Closed to install six new exhibits. We apologize for any inconvenience.

March 5, Sunday, 12 p.m.

2017 Vermont Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Ceremony

Recognizing outstanding young visual artists and writers from all across Vermont.

February 25, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Concert: UMASS Percussion Ensemble

The UMASS Percussion Group performs contemporary works for percussion ensemble.

February 23, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Carolyn Enz Hack

Sculptor Carolyn Enz Hack discusses her work.

February 13, Monday, 5 p.m.

Tenth Annual Domino Toppling Extravaganza

This iconic annual spectacle and crowd favorite returns to BMAC for the tenth year in a row.

February 4, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

14th Annual Collegiate A Cappella Concert

This popular annual event returns to the Latchis Theater in downtown Brattleboro.

January 28, Saturday, 1 p.m.

Curator Tour with Mara Williams

BMAC’s chief curator, Mara Williams, gives a tour of the current exhibits.

January 14, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Opening of Two New Exhibits

Join us for a brunch reception celebrating the opening of two new exhibits.

Deadline: December 30

Call for Creatures: GLASSTASTIC

Your imaginary creature could be turned into a glass sculpture and exhibited at BMAC.

Deadline: December 15

Call for Entries: VT Scholastic Art & Writing Awards 2017

VT students in grades 7-12 are eligible to win scholarships and exhibition opportunities.

December 8, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Stan Sherer

Stan Sherer discusses the evolution of the “printograph.”

November 28 - December 6, 2016

ARTravel: Art & Culture of Cuba

BMAC is pleased to offer an expedition to Cuba designed for enthusiasts of the visual arts, music, dance, literature, history, photography, and the Spanish language. These offerings highlight Cuba’s vibrant cultural scene,…    read more

November 18-20

Ninth Annual LEGO Contest & Exhibit

Design and build an original LEGO structure, and display it at BMAC!

Deadline: November 14

Call for Entries: OPEN CALL NXNE 2017

OPEN CALL NXNE 2017 will showcase photography, video, and digital art.

November 13, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Artist Talk: Margaret Lampe Kannenstine

Painter Margaret Lampe Kannenstine discusses her work.

November 10, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Paul Bowen

Sculptor Paul Bowen discusses his work.

October 28, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Opening of Five New Exhibits

Join us in celebrating the opening of five new exhibits.

October 20, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Kyle Cassidy

Kyle Cassidy discusses his project Armed America: Portraits of Gun Owners in Their Homes.

October 16, Sunday, 2:30 p.m.

Poetry Reading

Readings of work by young poets featured in the exhibit Windows to Creative Expression.

October 7, Friday, 8 p.m.

Walk With Me: The Trials of Damon J. Keith

The remarkable story of Damon Jerome Keith, Senior Judge for the U.S. Court of Appeals.

October 7, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Opening Reception: Windows to Creative Expression

Celebrate the opening of Windows to Creative Expression: Young Poets & Artists from the Poetry Studio.

October 6, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Panel Discussion: Guns in Our Community

Activists and law enforcement officials discuss issues surrounding guns in our community.

September 16-26

2016 Travel Auction

Treat yourself to an incredible vacation and support BMAC.

September 21, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

Panel Discussion: Artists Taking Stock of Guns

Four visual and performing artists discuss how guns influence their work.

September 18, Sunday, 4 p.m.

Hidden in the Hills: Chuck Ginnever Studio & Sculpture Grounds

Private tour of the studio and property of groundbreaking sculptor Chuck Ginnever.

September 15, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: John Willis

Award-winning photographer John Willis discusses his work.

September 8, Thursday, 7 p.m.

The First Arsenal of Democracy: “High-Tech” in the Connecticut Valley, 1795-1900

Historian Carrie Brown discusses the role of the Connecticut River Valley in the history of gun manufacturing.

September 2, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Circus at the Museum

Students and faculty from the New England Center for Circus Arts perform at the museum during Gallery Walk.

September 2, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Opening Reception: House/Home, A Work in Progress

Celebrate the opening of the new exhibit House/Home, A Work in Progress: John Willis.

September 1, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Off-Target: What Hollywood, Journalists, and Shooters Get Wrong About Guns

Dr. Mark Timney offers an apolitical examination of the mythology surrounding firearms.

August 28, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Curator Tour with Mara Williams

BMAC’s chief curator offers insights into the museum’s current exhibits.

August 27, Saturday, 12-5

The Tent of Casually Observed Phenologies

Artist James Leonard offers climate-change divination readings in a portable ritual space on the museum’s front lawn.

August 18, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Vermont Prohibition: Teetotalers, Bootleggers, and Corruption

Author Adam Krakowski discloses the tumultuous side of Vermont’s temperance movement.

August 14, Sunday, 10-12

Family Workshop: Whimsical Whirligigs

Create take-home sculptures that spin, bob, twist, and whirl during this drop-in workshop.

August 7, Sunday, 4:30 p.m.

Summer Garden Party

Join us for a summer garden party featuring farm-to-table fare, fine wine, and live music in a picturesque setting.

August 5, Friday, 5:30-10 p.m.

Union Station 100th Birthday Bash

Celebrate the 100th birthday of BMAC’s historic building with cake, punch, live music, and more!

July 27, Wednesday, 7:30 p.m.

From Studio to Museum: Life Stories of Famous Artworks of the Sixties

Curator and author Judith E. Stein recounts the early days of the contemporary art market.

July 24, Sunday, 10-12

Family Workshop: The Dog Days of Summer

Mark the “dog days” of summer by making a Go, Dog. Go!-inspired party hat.

July 21, Thursday, 5:30 p.m.

The Life & Times of Francisco de Goya

Tapas and a talk on the life and legacy of Francisco de Goya.