Past Events

October 23, Tuesday, 6 p.m.

Ruggles & Hunt Fall Fashion Show

Local models strut their stuff in Ruggles & Hunt’s Fall Fashion Show at BMAC.

October 19, Friday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Emily Mason

In connection with the exhibit To Another Place, painter Emily Mason reflects on six decades of art making.

October 17, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

Sharing our Stories: Writers for Recovery

Members of Writers for Recovery read works they created while overcoming addiction. 

October 11, Thursday, 7 p.m.

The Neurologic Basis of Opioid Dependence

Dr. Maria Gallo discusses the effects of drug addiction on the brain and central nervous system.

October 5, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Opening of Five New Exhibits

Join us during Brattleboro’s monthly Gallery Walk, as we celebrate the opening of five new exhibits.

Drawing: October 5

Art Raffle: Bruce Campbell

Take a chance at winning a kinetic sculpture by Bruce Campbell.

September 30, Sunday, 5:30 p.m.

11th Annual Domino Toppling Extravaganza

This iconic annual spectacle and crowd favorite returns to BMAC for the eleventh year in a row.

September 26 - October 5

Closed

Closed to install five new exhibits.

September 26, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

Film: Instructions on Parting

In connection with the exhibit “Roz Chast: Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?”, Latchis Theatre shows “Instructions on Parting”, a film directed by Amy Jenkins.

September 14, Friday, 5-7 p.m.

Book Launch: The Benefits of Being an Octopus

Join us for the launch of Ann Braden’s middle grade novel “The Benefits of Being an Octopus”.

September 7, Friday, 6 p.m.

Circus at the Museum

Aerialists and acrobats from New England Center for Circus Arts perform at the museum during Gallery Walk.

August 23, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist Talk: Shona Macdonald

Due to unforeseen circumstances, this event has been cancelled. We apologize for any inconvenience.

August 17, Friday, 8 p.m.

Alash Ensemble from Tuva

The award-winning Alash Ensemble brings their remarkable musical tradition back to Brattleboro.

August 11, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist Talk: Roz Chast

Roz Chast, longtime staff cartoonist for The New Yorker, discusses her life and career.

August 5, Sunday, 4:30 p.m.

Summer Garden Party

Join us for a summer garden party featuring farm-to-table fare, fine wine, and live music in a picturesque setting.

August 3, Friday, 6-8 p.m.

The Caterpillar Lab

Don’t miss this one-of-a-kind educational road show on view at BMAC during Gallery Walk. 

July 25, Wednesday, 7:30 p.m.

Art, Decolonization & Action for Puerto Rico

David Rios Ferreira and members of The Root Social Justice Center discuss art and activism.

July 24, Tuesday, 1-5 p.m.

Workshop: Fun with Wire

Sculptor Bruce Campbell leads a workshop exploring the possibilities of wire art.

July 21, Saturday, 4-6 p.m.

Hidden in the Hills: Wingate Studio

BMAC members are invited to tour Wingate Studio, an internationally renowned printmaking studio in Hinsdale, N.H.

July 12, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist Talk: Robert DuGrenier

In connection with the exhibit Handle with Care, Robert DuGrenier discusses his work.

July 6, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Paper Flower-Making during Gallery Walk

Celebrate the explosion of summer color by making vibrant flowers from dyed coffee filters during Gallery Walk.

June 22, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Opening of Five New Exhibits

BMAC members are invited to a reception with the artists celebrating the opening of five new exhibits.

June 17, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Artist Talk: Steve Gerberich

Steve Gerberich gives a guided, hands-on tour of his exhibit, Best of Springs, Sprockets & Pulleys.

June 9, Saturday, 1-3 p.m.

Studio Tour & Cookout: Johnny Swing

BMAC members are invited to watch sculptor Johnny Swing transform massive steel rods into a twisted work of art.

June 6, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

400 Miles Down the Connecticut River

NY Times best-selling author Michael Tougias leads a visual journey down the Connecticut River.

May 31, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Richard Klein

Richard Klein discusses his exhibit, Bottle in the River.

May 17, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Gowri Savoor

Gowri Savoor discusses her installation, We Walk in Their Shadows.

May 3, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Finding Meaning in Our Shared Watersheds

An exploration of why watersheds matter in our communities.

May 1, Tuesday, 7 p.m.

Lecture: Wise Trees

National Geographic photographers Diane Cook and Len Jenshel present their latest work.

April 28, Saturday, 2-5 p.m.

Workshop: The Art of Pysanky (Ukrainian Eggs)

Hands-on workshop in the traditional Ukrainian folk art of egg decoration.

April 22, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Artist Talk: Susan von Glahn Calabria

Susan von Glahn Calabria and BMAC Chief Curator Mara Williams discuss Calabria’s latest body of work.

April 17, Tuesday, 10-3

Workshop: Acrylic Paint Techniques

Hands-on acrylic paint workshop for art teachers.

April 16, Monday, 7 p.m.

Film Screening: Being Mortal

Free screening of Being Mortal, based on the best-selling book by Atul Gawande, MD.

April 13, Friday, 6 p.m.

2018 Spring Gala & Benefit Auction

Celebrate spring and support BMAC’s youth and education programs!

March 18-27, 2018

ARTravel: Cuba Off the Beaten Track

Travel with BMAC to the “real” Cuba beyond the well-known tourist destinations.

March 17, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Opening of Six New Exhibits

BMAC members are invited to a brunch reception celebrating the opening of six new exhibits.

March 10, Saturday, 12 p.m.

2018 Vermont Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Ceremony

Recognizing outstanding young visual artists and writers from all across Vermont.

meeting of the members
March 6, Tuesday, 5:30 p.m.

Annual Meeting of Members

BMAC members convene to review the past year and elect new trustees.

February 18, Sunday, 1-3:30 p.m.

Lunar New Year Festival & Potluck

Festival and potluck in celebration of the Lunar New Year. Activities for all ages.

February 17, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Concert: UMASS Percussion Ensemble

The UMASS Percussion Ensemble performs contemporary works for percussion.