Past Events

August 17, Friday, 8 p.m.

Alash Ensemble from Tuva

The award-winning Alash Ensemble brings their remarkable musical tradition back to Brattleboro.

August 11, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist Talk: Roz Chast

Roz Chast, longtime staff cartoonist for The New Yorker, discusses her life and career.

August 5, Sunday, 4:30 p.m.

Summer Garden Party

Join us for a summer garden party featuring farm-to-table fare, fine wine, and live music in a picturesque setting.

August 3, Friday, 6-8 p.m.

The Caterpillar Lab

Don’t miss this one-of-a-kind educational road show on view at BMAC during Gallery Walk. 

July 25, Wednesday, 7:30 p.m.

Art, Decolonization & Action for Puerto Rico

David Rios Ferreira and members of The Root Social Justice Center discuss art and activism.

July 24, Tuesday, 1-5 p.m.

Workshop: Fun with Wire

Sculptor Bruce Campbell leads a workshop exploring the possibilities of wire art.

July 21, Saturday, 4-6 p.m.

Hidden in the Hills: Wingate Studio

BMAC members are invited to tour Wingate Studio, an internationally renowned printmaking studio in Hinsdale, N.H.

July 12, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist Talk: Robert DuGrenier

In connection with the exhibit Handle with Care, Robert DuGrenier discusses his work.

July 6, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Paper Flower-Making during Gallery Walk

Celebrate the explosion of summer color by making vibrant flowers from dyed coffee filters during Gallery Walk.

June 22, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Opening of Five New Exhibits

BMAC members are invited to a reception with the artists celebrating the opening of five new exhibits.

June 18-22

Closed

Closed to install five new exhibits. We apologize for any inconvenience.

June 17, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Artist Talk: Steve Gerberich

Steve Gerberich gives a guided, hands-on tour of his exhibit, Best of Springs, Sprockets & Pulleys.

June 9, Saturday, 1-3 p.m.

Studio Tour & Cookout: Johnny Swing

BMAC members are invited to watch sculptor Johnny Swing transform massive steel rods into a twisted work of art.

June 6, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

400 Miles Down the Connecticut River

NY Times best-selling author Michael Tougias leads a visual journey down the Connecticut River.

May 31, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Richard Klein

Richard Klein discusses his exhibit, Bottle in the River.

May 17, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Gowri Savoor

Gowri Savoor discusses her installation, We Walk in Their Shadows.

May 3, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Finding Meaning in Our Shared Watersheds

An exploration of why watersheds matter in our communities.

May 1, Tuesday, 7 p.m.

Lecture: Wise Trees

National Geographic photographers Diane Cook and Len Jenshel present their latest work.

April 28, Saturday, 2-5 p.m.

Workshop: The Art of Pysanky (Ukrainian Eggs)

Hands-on workshop in the traditional Ukrainian folk art of egg decoration.

April 22, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Artist Talk: Susan von Glahn Calabria

Susan von Glahn Calabria and BMAC Chief Curator Mara Williams discuss Calabria’s latest body of work.

April 17, Tuesday, 10-3

Workshop: Acrylic Paint Techniques

Hands-on acrylic paint workshop for art teachers.

April 16, Monday, 7 p.m.

Film Screening: Being Mortal

Free screening of Being Mortal, based on the best-selling book by Atul Gawande, MD.

April 13, Friday, 6 p.m.

2018 Spring Gala & Benefit Auction

Celebrate spring and support BMAC’s youth and education programs!

March 18-27, 2018

ARTravel: Cuba Off the Beaten Track

Travel with BMAC to the “real” Cuba beyond the well-known tourist destinations.

March 17, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Opening of Six New Exhibits

BMAC members are invited to a brunch reception celebrating the opening of six new exhibits.

March 10, Saturday, 12 p.m.

2018 Vermont Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Ceremony

Recognizing outstanding young visual artists and writers from all across Vermont.

meeting of the members
March 6, Tuesday, 5:30 p.m.

Annual Meeting of Members

BMAC members convene to review the past year and elect new trustees.

February 18, Sunday, 1-3:30 p.m.

Lunar New Year Festival & Potluck

Festival and potluck in celebration of the Lunar New Year. Activities for all ages.

February 17, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Concert: UMASS Percussion Ensemble

The UMASS Percussion Ensemble performs contemporary works for percussion.

February 3, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

15th Annual Collegiate A Cappella Concert

This popular annual event returns to the Latchis Theater in downtown Brattleboro.

January 26, Friday, 6 p.m.

Yoga at the Museum: Cat, Cow, Downward Dog

Enjoy a gentle yoga class surrounded by images of animals in contemporary art.

January 21, Sunday, 11:30 a.m.

Postcard Party with VT’s Local Love Brigade

Make love-filled postcards to support victims of hate.

January 20, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Vermont Raptors: Birds of Prey

Raptor expert Michael Clough brings live hawks, owls, and falcons to BMAC.

January 18, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Lecture: The Alhambra in Time

Art historian Felicity Ratte discusses the history of the Alhambra, inspiration for the work of Anila Quayyum Agha.

January 13, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Opening of Open Call NXNE 2018

Join us for a brunch reception celebrating the opening of Open Call NXNE 2018.

January 11, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Joan O’Beirne

Artist Joan O’Beirne, whose installation “The Scarf” is on view in the East Gallery, discusses her work.

December 8-10 & 14-16

Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol

Vermont Theatre Company presents Dickens’ “A Christmas Carol” at BMAC.

Deadline: December 14

Call for Entries: VT Scholastic Art & Writing Awards 2018

VT students in grades 7-12 are eligible to win scholarships and exhibition opportunities.

December 3, Sunday, 1 p.m.

Exhibit Tour: Touchstones, Totems, Talismans

Chief curator Mara Williams and several exhibiting artists discuss Touchstones, Totems, Talismans.

November 30, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Gallery Talk: In-Sight Exposed

Curator Rachel Portesi discusses the exhibit In-Sight Exposed.