Past Events

March 19, Tuesday, 3:30 p.m.

Fun With Food & Art

Kids of all ages are invited to this fun collaboration with the Brattleboro Food Co-op!

March 14, Thursday, 5:30 p.m.

Annual Meeting of the Membership

BMAC members convene to review the past year and elect new trustees.

March 9, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Opening of Six New Exhibits

Join us for a brunch reception as we celebrate the opening of six new exhibits.

March 3-8, 2019

Closed

Closed to install six new exhibits.

March 2, Saturday, 12 p.m.

2019 Vermont Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Ceremony

Recognizing outstanding young visual artists and writers from all across Vermont.

February 17, Sunday, 1 p.m.

Lunar New Year Festival & Potluck

Festival and potluck in celebration of the Lunar New Year. Activities for all ages.

February 2, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

16th Annual Collegiate A Cappella Concert

This popular annual event returns to the Latchis Theater in downtown Brattleboro.

February 1, Friday, 8 p.m.

High School A Cappella Warm-up Concert @ BMAC

Local high school a cappella groups perform at the museum during Gallery Walk.

January 29, Tuesday, 10-3

Workshop: Color and Light STEAM

Jill Dawson leads a workshop for teachers in creative uses of electronic circuitry.

January 27, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Curator Tour with Mara Williams

BMAC Chief Curator Mara Williams gives a tour of the current exhibits.

January 19, Saturday, 2 p.m.

Gallery Talk: Orly Cogan

Orly Cogan and Chief Curator Mara Williams discuss the exhibit Don’t Call Me Princess.

January 17, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Panel: Food as Artistic Expression

Five local culinary artists discuss the aesthetics of food preparation.

January 12, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Opening of Open Call NXNE 2019: Paint

All are welcome to a brunch reception celebrating the opening of Open Call NXNE 2019: Paint.

December 13, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Panel: Addiction and Recovery in our Community

Community members on the front lines of the addiction crisis discuss recovery resources in the Brattleboro area.

December 4, Tuesday, 4:30-6:30 p.m.

Celebrating Recovery

Join us in celebrating those who help make recovery from addiction possible.

December 1, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Concert: UMass Percussion Ensemble

The UMass Percussion Ensemble performs contemporary works for percussion.

November 29, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Gallery Talk: Michael Poster

Photographer Michael Poster and Chief Curator Mara Williams discuss the exhibit “If she has a pulse, she has a chance.”

Deadline: November 12

Call for Entries: OPEN CALL NXNE 2019

BMAC is now accepting submissions from artists in New England and New York for our annual juried exhibit, Open Call NXNE.

November 8-11, 2018

11th Annual LEGO Contest and Exhibit

Design and build an original LEGO structure, and display it at BMAC!

October 25, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Robert Perkins

In connection with the exhibit Every Day, Robert Perkins discusses his work.

October 23, Tuesday, 6 p.m.

Ruggles & Hunt Fall Fashion Show

Local models strut their stuff in Ruggles & Hunt’s Fall Fashion Show at BMAC.

October 19, Friday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Emily Mason

In connection with the exhibit To Another Place, painter Emily Mason reflects on six decades of art making.

October 17, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

Sharing our Stories: Writers for Recovery

Members of Writers for Recovery read works they created while overcoming addiction. 

October 11, Thursday, 7 p.m.

The Neurologic Basis of Opioid Dependence

Dr. Maria Gallo discusses the effects of drug addiction on the brain and central nervous system.

October 5, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Opening of Five New Exhibits

Join us during Brattleboro’s monthly Gallery Walk, as we celebrate the opening of five new exhibits.

Drawing: October 5

Art Raffle: Bruce Campbell

Take a chance at winning a kinetic sculpture by Bruce Campbell.

September 30, Sunday, 5:30 p.m.

11th Annual Domino Toppling Extravaganza

This iconic annual spectacle and crowd favorite returns to BMAC for the eleventh year in a row.

September 26, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

Film: Instructions on Parting

In connection with the exhibit “Roz Chast: Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?”, Latchis Theatre shows “Instructions on Parting”, a film directed by Amy Jenkins.

September 14, Friday, 5-7 p.m.

Book Launch: The Benefits of Being an Octopus

Join us for the launch of Ann Braden’s middle grade novel “The Benefits of Being an Octopus”.

September 7, Friday, 6 p.m.

Circus at the Museum

Aerialists and acrobats from New England Center for Circus Arts perform at the museum during Gallery Walk.

August 23, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist Talk: Shona Macdonald

Due to unforeseen circumstances, this event has been cancelled. We apologize for any inconvenience.

August 17, Friday, 8 p.m.

Alash Ensemble from Tuva

The award-winning Alash Ensemble brings their remarkable musical tradition back to Brattleboro.

August 11, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist Talk: Roz Chast

Roz Chast, longtime staff cartoonist for The New Yorker, discusses her life and career.

August 5, Sunday, 4:30 p.m.

Summer Garden Party

Join us for a summer garden party featuring farm-to-table fare, fine wine, and live music in a picturesque setting.

August 3, Friday, 6-8 p.m.

The Caterpillar Lab

Don’t miss this one-of-a-kind educational road show on view at BMAC during Gallery Walk. 

July 25, Wednesday, 7:30 p.m.

Art, Decolonization & Action for Puerto Rico

David Rios Ferreira and members of The Root Social Justice Center discuss art and activism.

July 24, Tuesday, 1-5 p.m.

Workshop: Fun with Wire

Sculptor Bruce Campbell leads a workshop exploring the possibilities of wire art.

July 21, Saturday, 4-6 p.m.

Hidden in the Hills: Wingate Studio

BMAC members are invited to tour Wingate Studio, an internationally renowned printmaking studio in Hinsdale, N.H.

July 12, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist Talk: Robert DuGrenier

In connection with the exhibit Handle with Care, Robert DuGrenier discusses his work.

July 6, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Paper Flower-Making during Gallery Walk

Celebrate the explosion of summer color by making vibrant flowers from dyed coffee filters during Gallery Walk.

June 22, Friday, 5:30 p.m.

Opening of Five New Exhibits

BMAC members are invited to a reception with the artists celebrating the opening of five new exhibits.

June 17, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Artist Talk: Steve Gerberich

Steve Gerberich gives a guided, hands-on tour of his exhibit, Best of Springs, Sprockets & Pulleys.

June 9, Saturday, 1-3 p.m.

Studio Tour & Cookout: Johnny Swing

BMAC members are invited to watch sculptor Johnny Swing transform massive steel rods into a twisted work of art.

June 6, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

400 Miles Down the Connecticut River

NY Times best-selling author Michael Tougias leads a visual journey down the Connecticut River.

May 31, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Richard Klein

Richard Klein discusses his exhibit, Bottle in the River.

May 17, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Gowri Savoor

Gowri Savoor discusses her installation, We Walk in Their Shadows.

May 3, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Finding Meaning in Our Shared Watersheds

An exploration of why watersheds matter in our communities.

May 1, Tuesday, 7 p.m.

Lecture: Wise Trees

National Geographic photographers Diane Cook and Len Jenshel present their latest work.

April 28, Saturday, 2-5 p.m.

Workshop: The Art of Pysanky (Ukrainian Eggs)

Hands-on workshop in the traditional Ukrainian folk art of egg decoration.

April 22, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Artist Talk: Susan von Glahn Calabria

Susan von Glahn Calabria and BMAC Chief Curator Mara Williams discuss Calabria’s latest body of work.