Past Events

November 18, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Rachel Portesi

Rachel Portesi discusses her tintype photographs of women.

November 14, Saturday, 5 p.m.

LEGO Contest & Exhibit Awards Ceremony

Join us on Zoom and Facebook Live as we honor this year’s LEGO Contest winners.

November 13-16

13th Annual LEGO Contest & Exhibit

Design and build an original LEGO structure, and display it at BMAC!

November 11-12

Closed

BMAC will be closed November 11-12 for the installation of the 13th Annual LEGO Contest & Exhibit.

November 6, Friday, 4-8 p.m.

Gallery Walk

Stop by to see current exhibits during extended hours for Brattleboro’s monthly Gallery Walk. 

November 4, Wednesday, 3 p.m.

Be a LEGO Master with Jessica “Ragzy” Ewud

Brick artist Jessica “Ragzy” Ewud presents an online LEGO workshops for ages 4-12.

October 18, Sunday 5:30 p.m.

13th Annual Domino Toppling Extravaganza

This iconic annual spectacle and crowd favorite returns to BMAC for the thirteenth year in a row.

October 7, Wednesday, 7:30 p.m.

No Place Like Home: Housing in Windham County

This panel discussion considers shortages in affordable, workforce, and market-rate housing in Windham County.

October 1, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Roger Clark Miller: Four Dream Interpretations

Roger Clark Miller presents his dream-inspired “solo electric guitar ensemble,” followed by a Q&A.

September 23, Wednesday, 7:30 p.m.

Homelessness: The Big Picture

Professor Dennis Culhane speaks about the large-scale forces contributing to homelessness in the United States.

September 10, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

In Sight: What the Unseen are Holding for Society

Therapist Kurt White discusses why we avert our eyes when we see someone living on the street.

September 4, Friday, 9:45 a.m.

Benefit Auction

BMAC’s annual Benefit Auction moves online, with works by Wolf Kahn, Emily Mason, Petria Mitchell, Julia Jensen, and many more!

August 30, Sunday, 7:30 p.m.

Benefit Auction Preview

Pour yourself a drink and join us on Zoom for a guided preview of our upcoming Online Benefit Auction!

August 13, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Virtual Studio Visit: John Gibson

Visit the studio of painter John Gibson via Zoom.

July 30, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Interview with Michael Christopher Brown

Curator Katherine Gass Stowe interviews photographer Michael Christopher Brown.

July 1, Wednesday, 5:30 p.m.

Annual Meeting of the Membership

BMAC members convene to review the past year and elect new trustees.

June 25, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Grit and Grace: The Empowerment of Women at Work in Global Communities

Documentary photographer Alison Wright discusses her images of resilient working women in developing countries.

June 11, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist Talk: Steven Rose

Steven Rose discusses his immersive installation For/While (2020.01)

June 5, Friday, 5:30-8:30 p.m.

Talking Mail Art with Shmuel during Gallery Walk

Mail artist Stuart Copans (“Shmuel”) will chat with Museum visitors during Gallery Walk.

May 26, Tuesday, 5:30 p.m.

Food for Thought: Homelessness in Brattleboro

A casual supper at which staff of Groundworks and others will share information about homelessness.

May 20, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

Surprise! You’ve Got Mail Art

A panel discussion with mail artists Chuck Welch (CrackerJack Kid), Stuart Copans (Shmuel), and Gabrielle Dietzel.

May 15, Friday, 7 p.m.

An Evening of Tibetan Music with Migmar Tsering

Musician and storyteller Migmar Tsering, a Tibetan refugee, plays traditional music on the dramyin.

May 9, Saturday, 9 a.m.–12 p.m.

Workshop: Bugs and Blooms

Join us for this drop-in family workshop to make art inspired by Wesley Fleming’s glass wildflowers and insects!

May 1, Friday, 5:30-8:30 p.m.

Talking Mail Art with Shmuel during Gallery Walk

Mail artist Stuart Copans (“Shmuel”) will chat with Museum visitors during Gallery Walk.

April 23, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

In Pursuit of Disobedient Women

Dionne Searcey discusses her work as West Africa bureau chief for The New York Times.

April 18, Saturday, 1 p.m.

Curator Tour: Katherine Gass Stowe

Katherine Gass Stowe leads a tour of “Steven Kinder: 552,830” and “Alison Wright: Grit and Grace, Women at Work.”

April 8, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Roger Clark Miller

Roger Clark Miller discusses his multimedia installation and performs ambient “dream-state guitar.”

April 3, Friday, 8:30 a.m.–6 p.m.

Day Trip: Louise Bourgeois at Vassar College

Join Education Curator Linda Whelihan on this excursion to Vassar College to see textiles and prints by Louise Bourgeois.

April 3, Friday, 5:30 - 8:30 p.m.

XOX! Share the Love: Artful Tic-Tac-Toe during Gallery Walk

Experience artist Lynn Herring’s XOX! Share the Love, a re-engineered tic-tac-toe game designed to “Make America Relate Again.”

March 29, Sunday, 2 p.m.

BMAC Members Tour: First Proof Press

Take a guided tour of First Proof Press, Brattleboro’s new collaborative fine art printmaking studio.

March 17-27, 2020

ARTravel: Art, Craft, and Nature in Costa Rica

Take part in the first small-group trip to explore Costa Rica’s vibrant arts scene.

March 21, Saturday, 1-4 p.m.

Workshop: The Art of Pysanky (Ukrainian Eggs)

Hands-on workshop in the traditional Ukrainian folk art of egg decoration.

March 14, Saturday 3-5 p.m.

Opening of New Exhibits

Join us for a reception to celebrate the opening of new exhibits.

March 14, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

Grit and Grace: The Empowerment of Women at Work in Global Communities

Documentary photographer Alison Wright discusses her images of resilient working women in developing countries.

March 7, Saturday, 12 p.m.

2020 VT Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Ceremony

Recognizing outstanding young visual artists and writers from all across Vermont.

February 29, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Concert: UMass Percussion Ensemble

The UMass Percussion Ensemble performs contemporary works for percussion.

February 27, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Ask the River: Imagine the Answers

Join Kathy Urffer, Rich Holschuh, and Ask the River artists for a free-form discussion of the Connecticut River.

February 23, Sunday, 6 p.m.

EAT! Micro-Grant Dinner

Enjoy dinner with fellow art lovers, then vote on which local art projects to fund via the evening’s admission fees.

February 15, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Opening Celebration: Ask the River

Join us for the opening of this community art project, designed to empower viewers to reconnect with the Connecticut River.

February 8, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

17th Annual Collegiate A Cappella Concert

This popular annual event returns to the Latchis Theater in downtown Brattleboro.

February 7, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

High School A Cappella Warm-up Concert

Local high school a cappella groups perform at the museum during Gallery Walk.

January 26, Sunday, 1-3 p.m.

Lunar New Year Festival & Potluck

Festival and potluck in celebration of the Lunar New Year. Activities for all ages.

January 21, Tuesday, 10-5

Workshop: Slow and Mindful Stitch

Eva Camacho-Sanchez leads this contemplative exploration of line, color, and stitch for sewers, embroiderers, and felters.

January 16, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Doug Trump

Doug Trump discusses his work, which is on view through February 9 in the exhibit By Rail. 

December 18, Wednesday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Fafnir Adamites

Fafnir Adamites discusses the installation Interfere (with) and the ways in which the sculptures address trauma.

December 10, Tuesday, 3:30 p.m.

Fun With Food & Art

Kids of all ages are invited to this fun collaboration with the Brattleboro Food Co-op!

November 12, Tuesday, 7 p.m.

Legacies of Trauma

Holocaust scholar Dr. Hank Knight explores the concept of “historical trauma.”

November 7-11, 2019

12th Annual LEGO Contest and Exhibit

Design and build an original LEGO structure, and display it at BMAC!

November 2, Saturday, 10-1 p.m.

In the Eye of the Beholder: A Writing Workshop for Teachers – CANCELLED

Elayne Clift leads teachers in a series of writing prompts based on current exhibits.