Past Events

August 11, Thursday 7 p.m.

Abenaki Cuisine Demonstration

Chef Jessee Lawyer presents an online demonstration of traditional and contemporary Abenaki cooking.

August 4, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Walkthrough: Mie Yim

Mie Yim leads a walkthrough of the exhibit Fluid Boundaries.

July 28, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Panel Discussion: Felt Experience

Sarah Freeman, co-curator of Felt Experience, leads a panel discussion with exhibiting artists.

July 23, Saturday, 2 p.m.

Workshop: Transfer Prints with Frank Jackson

Exhibiting artist Frank Jackson presents a workshop on making transfer prints.

July 21, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Curator Walkthrough: Felt Experience

Curator Katherine Gass Stowe leads a walkthrough of the exhibit Felt Experience.

July 19, Tuesday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Stephanie Metz

Stephanie Metz discusses “InTouch,” her large-scale touchable fiber sculpture installation.

June 24, Friday, 7 p.m.

Nebizun Celebration & Curator Talk

This special celebration for Nebizun: Water is Life features talks and performances.

June 18, Saturday, 5 p.m.

Opening of Summer Exhibits

All are welcome to a party celebrating new exhibits.

June 5, Sunday, 3 p.m.

Hidden in the Hills: Stone Trust

The Stone Trust leads a tour of notable dry stone structures in Dummerston and Brattleboro.

May 30, Monday, 10-4

Open on Memorial Day

BMAC is open on Memorial Day, Monday, May 30, 10-4.

May 26, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist & Curator Tour: Roberto Visani and David Rios Ferreira

Roberto Visani and David Rios Ferreira discuss the exhibit Form/Reform.

*NEW DATE* May 22, Sunday, 8 p.m.

Night Skies & Stories

BEEC leads participants in viewing the night sky through telescopes and sharing stories about the stars.

May 19, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Curator Talk: Elissa Watters

Curator Elissa Watters discusses Louisa Chase: Fantasy Worlds.

May 14, Saturday, 5 p.m.

Celebration of Spring Exhibits

All are welcome to a reception celebrating current exhibits.

May 2, Monday, 7 p.m.

Pay No Attention to the Artist Behind the Curtain: A Behind-the-Scenes Look at Artificial Intelligence and NFTs

Artist Anne Spalter and programmer Todd Dailey present an online tour of their NFT art exhibit.

April 30, Saturday, 2-5 p.m.

Workshop: Mask Making

Sachiko Akiyama leads an animal mask making workshop at the River Gallery School.

April 28, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Spaceships and Art: A Match Made in the Imagination

Ron Miller gives a Zoom presentation on the history of spaceships depicted in art.

April 21, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Historical Depictions of Slavery

Renée Ater discusses the history of the artworks referenced in Roberto Visani: Form/Reform.

April 14, Thursday, 7 p.m.

The Delight of Listening: Interviewing for Oral History and Deeper Understanding

Sasha Antohin and Mary Wesley lead a workshop on oral history interviewing.

April 9, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

18th (Almost) Annual Collegiate A Cappella Benefit Concert

This popular benefit concert returns to the Latchis Theatre.

April 9, Saturday, 1:30 p.m.

Workshop: The Art of Pysanky (Ukrainian Eggs)

Hands-on workshop in the traditional Ukrainian folk art of egg decoration.

April 7, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Sachiko Akiyama

Sachiko Akiyama leads a virtual walkthrough and discussion of the exhibit Through Lines.

March 31, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: M. Carmen Lane

M. Carmen Lane discusses (í:se) Be Our Guest/Stolen.

March 27, Sunday, 7 p.m.

Concert: UMass Percussion Ensemble

The UMass Percussion Ensemble performs in the Museum’s Wolf Kahn & Emily Mason Gallery.

March 5, Saturday, 12 p.m.

2022 Vermont Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Ceremony

Recognizing outstanding young visual artists and writers from all across Vermont.

February 19-27

Artful Ice Shanties

Visit this outdoor display of wild, wonderful Artful Ice Shanties at Retreat Farm.

February 12, Saturday, 2 p.m.

Workshop: Monotype Printmaking

First Proof Press demonstrates the basics of monotype printmaking.

February 10, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Studio Tour and Demonstration: Robert DuGrenier

Robert DuGrenier presents an online studio tour and glassblowing demonstration.

February 1, Tuesday, 5:30 p.m.

Lunar New Year Cooking Demo

Cai Xi of Cai’s Dim Sum Catering teaches participants how to make dumplings from scratch.

January 27, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Puppet-Making Demonstration: B. Lynch

Artist B. Lynch shares her puppet-making techniques.

January 20, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist & Curator Conversation: Natalie Frank and Elissa Watters

Artist Natalie Frank and curator Elissa Watters discuss Painting with Paper.

January 12, Wednesday, 5:30 p.m.

HatchSpace Lathe Demo

Woodworker Jeff Bower will go through the process of using a lathe to create a piece from start to finish.

January 6, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Michael Abrams

Michael Abrams discusses Arcadia Rediscovered, his immersive painting installation.

Registration deadline: December 15

Call for Artful Ice Shanties

Register to build an Artful Ice Shanty to display at Retreat Farm in February 2022.

December 5, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Studio Visit: Richard Bissell Fine Woodworking

Fine woodworker Richard Bissell offers a tour of his Putney workshop.

December 2, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: William Ransom

William Ransom discusses his sculpture installation and his artistic process.

November 21, Sunday, 2 p.m.

Vermont Blown Away

Vermont Glass Guild artists create glass art inspired by ancient objects for a live audience at Fire Arts Vermont. 

November 18, Thursday, 5:30 p.m.

NORTH: Book Reading & Panel Discussion

Brad Kessler reads from North, his new novel about a Somali refugee in Vermont.

November 11-14

14th Annual LEGO Contest & Exhibit

Design and build an original LEGO structure, and display it at BMAC!

November 6, Saturday, 4 p.m.

Workshop: Knit Democracy Together

Eve Jacobs-Carnahan leads a maker circle for people who like yarn and democracy.

October 28, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: B. Lynch

B. Lynch discusses the time-bending universe of the Reds and the Greys.

October 23, Saturday, 11 a.m.

Opening of New Exhibits

All are welcome to a reception celebrating new exhibits.

October 17, Sunday, 5:30 p.m.

14th Annual Domino Toppling Extravaganza

This iconic annual spectacle and crowd favorite returns to BMAC for the 14th year in a row.

October 16, Saturday 7 p.m.

Film Screening: Lily Topples the World

The award-winning film about Lily Hevesh’s rise as a domino artist will be followed by a Q&A.

October 7, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Artist Talk: Delano Dunn

Delano Dunn discusses Novelties in a live Zoom presentation.

September 30, Thursday, 7 p.m.

Minor White: Photographer, Teacher, Advocate

Catherine Barth PH.D. discusses Minor White and his influence on photography.

September 24, Friday, 6 p.m.

Fall Gala & Benefit Auction

Join us for a fun and elegant evening in support of BMAC’s programs for children and teens.

September 23, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Artist & Curator Conversation: Erick Johnson and Mara Williams

Artist Erick Johnson and BMAC Chief Curator Mara Williams discuss Double Take.

September 16, Thursday, 7:30 p.m.

Lollapalooza Nation: The Rise of Alternative Rock in the 1990s

Music historian Theo Cateforis discusses the forces that gave rise to the groundbreaking music festival and its lasting legacy.