Concert: UMass Percussion Ensemble

April 14, Sunday, 7 p.m.

ADMISSION: $10 (free for BMAC members)
Purchase tickets in advance or at the door, subject to availability.
To purchase tickets, click here or call 802-257-0124 x101.

LOCATION: In person at BMAC, 10 Vernon Street, Brattleboro VT 05301

For accessibility questions and requests, email or call 802-257-0124 x101.

Members of the outstanding UMass Percussion Ensemble, under the direction of Ayano Kataoka, perform works for percussion by Bach, Burritt, Cage, Druckman, and Stravinsky, in BMAC’s Wolf Kahn & Emily Mason Gallery.


Cello Suite No. 5 in C minor BWV 1011 [Prelude, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Gavotte I, Gavotte II, Gigue]
J.S. Bach (1685-1750)
performed by Robert Grahmann, marimba

Michael Burritt (b. 1962)
performed by Philip Hanifin, marimba

Forever and Sunsmell
John Cage (1912-1992)
performed by Clara Montes, voice; Sejeong Pyo, drums; Robert Grahmann, Chinese cymbal

Reflections on the Nature of Water [I. Crystalline, II. Fleet, III. Tranquil, IV. Gently Swelling, V. Profound, VI. Relentless]
Jacob Druckman (1928-1996)
performed by Sejeong Pyo, marimba

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
performed by Sejeong Pyo and Robert Grahmann, marimbas

Circus Polka
Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
performed by Sejeong Pyo and Robert Grahmann, marimbas

Percussionist Ayano Kataoka is known for her brilliant and dynamic technique, as well as the unique elegance and artistry she brings to her performances. A versatile performer, she regularly presents music of diverse genres and mediums. A leading proponent of contemporary repertoire, Kataoka has participated in several consortiums to commission works for solo marimba or chamber ensemble from such composers as Charles Wuorinen, Martin Bresnick, Paul Lansky, and Alejandro Viñao. She was the first percussionist to be chosen for The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s Chamber Music Society Two, a three-season residency program for emerging artists offering high-profile performance opportunities in collaboration with The Chamber Music Society. Ms. Kataoka joined the faculty of the University of Massachusetts Amherst in 2008.