Concert: UMASS Percussion Ensemble

February 25, Saturday, 7 p.m.

The UMass Percussion Ensemble, under the direction of Ayano Kataoka, performs in the museum’s Center Gallery. The concert will be followed by a reception with the performers.


* Music for Pieces of Wood by Steve Reich
* Conversation for solo marimba, by Akira Miyoshi
* Angels for nine triangles, by Stuart Saunders Smith
* Time for solo marimba, by Minoru Miki
* Ambient Resonances for vibraphone and marimba, by Peter Klatzow
* The Lonelyness of Santa Claus for two marimbas, by Fredrick Andersson
* Excerpts from I Ching by Per Nørgård
* Book of Grooves (4th movement) for two marimbas, by Alejandro Viñao

Performers include include Christopher Cossuto, Lindsey Hartfelder, Casey Jones, Christopher Keeler, Seth Lampert, Dominic Mrakovcich, Maxwell Newman, Sean O’Rourke, Jonathan Schmidt, Mitch Tilghman, and Thomas Wilson.

Percussionist and marimbist Ayano Kataoka is known for her brilliant and dynamic technique, as well as the unique elegance and artistry she brings to her performances. A versatile performer, she regularly presents music of diverse genres and mediums. A leading proponent of contemporary repertoire, Ms. Kataoka has participated in several consortiums to commission works for solo marimba or chamber ensemble from such composers as Charles Wuorinen, Martin Bresnick, Paul Lansky, and Alejandro Viñao. She was the first percussionist to be chosen for The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s Chamber Music Society Two, a three-season residency program for emerging artists offering high-profile performance opportunities in collaboration with The Chamber Music Society. Ms. Kataoka joined the faculty of the University of Massachusetts Amherst in 2008.

ADMISSION: Free for BMAC members and youth 18 and under, $5 for all others


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest